Hurd Receives 2018 Champion of Innovation Award from Fiber Optic Sensing Association

December 5, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC -- The Fiber Optic Sensing Association (FOSA) today recognized Representative Will Hurd (R-TX) as a recipient of FOSA’s Champion of Innovation Award for 2018. The selection, based on the extraordinary leadership demonstrated by Hurd in the 115th Congress to make U.S. security programs more effective through advanced technology, was made at FOSA’s annual conference in Washington, DC.

One of Representative Hurd’s signature bills in the 115th Congress was H.R. 3479, the “Secure Miles with All Resources and Technology Act” or SMART Act, a bill that directs the Department of Homeland Security to deploy the most practical and effective technology available, such as radar, tunnel detection technology, unmanned aerial vehicles, and sensors, to achieve situational awareness and operational control along the U.S. border.

“Congressman Hurd has brought to the Congress his experience in both technology and national security,” said FOSA Vice-Chairman John Williams of OptaSense. “Augmenting border security through advanced technology has support on both sides of the aisle and we appreciate his leadership in this regard.”

"We are pleased to recognize Congressman Hurd as a Champion of Innovation and look forward to working with him in the future,” Williams said.


FOSA is a non-profit organization created in Washington DC in 2017 with the mission of educating industry, government and the public on the benefits of fiber optic sensing. Through webinars, videos, white papers, public presentations and public policy advocacy, the organization provides information on the use of fiber optic sensing to secure critical facilities, enhance public safety and protect the environment.

FOSA Members include Adelos Inc., AFL, AP Sensing, Asymmetric Technologies, Corning, Ditch Witch, Dura-Line, Emerson Electric, Fotech Solutions, Frauscher Sensor Technology USA, Hifi Engineering, Network Integrity Systems, NKT Photonics, OFS, Omnisens, OptaSense, OZ Optics, Prysmian Group and Smartpipe Technologies®. For further information, please visit the FOSA website.